top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaley Fitzpatrick

Discussion #2: Communicating with Type & Images

When being assigned this project and the title of the assignment, the strange, weird, and unusual properties of the name really reminded me of Goosebumps. So taking that concept along with other 1980-1990 horror films posters , Goosebumps iconic book covers, my favorite childhood book covers, some 1920-30 typography and horror posters, I will analyze and construct what might work best along with my story synopsis. 

Though through looking at most of these posters and book covers at this current time period, one may look down at them with a certain view as being silly, b films; with a not always  great use of typography. Most of the horror posters showcased below all use decorative type for their titles to help illustrate the sense of the horror, liveliness, and attention most people hope to see. However the rest of the type on the posters show case san serif text that alludes to more information. However, in the 1980-90 movies/books, the non titled text can sometimes be placed in a odd area due to it not fitting into the illustrations used, or on an 'easy' option of the border/bottom of the piece.  Another thing to be noted, about those posters, is that the type does not always play with the illustrations/imagery. With my project I hope to allude to the same horror like typography/posters/covers because I want that same sense of 'experience of horror' that you expect from that kind of film. Yet I still want to incorporate the experimental type/spacing, artistic, geometrical, 1920-30 typography posters have, that I believe would bring out a different element or idea to the book cover. I want to play around with the idea of shapes, space, and types effect on the whole composition; while also using those cliche horror style/typography/illustrations.  

I hope that my results/experiments will bring out a more 'mature' and 'thinking' effect to what would seem like a very silly horror. 

I also attached a small pdf with other examples of some posters I was looking at.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page